Go to the U of M home page.

U of M Law Library > Research Guides Directory > Closely Held Corporations

Researching Closely Held Corporations

 

Last Updated 11/2010. Direct feedback on this page to lawlib@umn.edu.


Table of Contents

» Library of Congress Subject Headings » Treatises, Looseleafs, Nutshells & Restatements
» Statutes, Codes & Uniform Laws » Continuing Legal Education Publications
» Law Reviews & Periodicals


Introduction

This guide provides an introduction to research on closely held corporations and includes relevant statutes, periodicals, and treatises. A closely held corporation is defined in Minnesota as a corporation which does not have more than 35 shareholders. (Minn. Stat. §302A.011, Subd. 6A (2008)). O'Neal and Thompson in their classic treatise, Close Corporations and LLC’s: Law and Practice suggest that "another popular definition states that a close corporation is a corporation whose shares are not generally traded in the securities market." (§1.2).

This title is on Westlaw in the CCORPLLC database.

For materials on other forms of business organization, see the Law Library’s more general Researching Business Law guide. The library also has a research guide on Sales/Uniform Commercial Code Article 2.

Library of Congress Subject Headings

 

The following subject searches can be used to find works covering close corporations in MNCAT, the library catalog.

CLOSE CORPORATIONS
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--ACCOUNTING
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--FINANCE
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--FINANCE--HANDBOOKS MANUALS ETC
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--MANAGEMENT
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--( )--FORMS
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--TAXATION
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--( )--FINANCE
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--( )--FORMS
CLOSE CORPORATIONS--VALUATION-- ( )
CORPORATE GOVERNANCE--LAW AND LEGISLATION--( )
CORPORATION LAW--( )
CORPORATIONS--( CORPORATIONS---( )--FORMS
FAMILY CORPORATIONS --( )
FAMILY CORPORATIONS--TAXATION
FAMILY CORPORATIONS--( )--POPULAR WORKS
STOCK PURCHASE AGREEMENTS CLOSE
STOCK PURCHASE AGREEMENTS CLOSE

 *Note: parentheses () indicate individual country or state entries.  Most subjects have a Minnesota subheading.


Statutes, Codes & Uniform Laws

 

  • Corporations and Other Business Associations: Selected Statutes, Rules, and Forms. (latest edition on reserve) Law Library Reserve KF1355.A39 C67.

  • Internal Revenue Code (1954-) (LAW LOOSELEAF SERVICES KF6276.55 A19 U55; WESTLAW FTX-IRSPUBS; LEXIS FEDTAX library, CODE file.) Index. Amendments in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News pamphlets.

     

  • Internal Revenue Bulletin: Cumulative Bulletin (1968-) (LAW LOOSELEAF SERVICES KF6301 A55 U652; WESTLAW FTX-CB; LEXIS FEDTAX library, CB file.).

     

  • Model Business Corporation Act Annotated: Model Business Corporation Act with Official Comment and Reporter's Annotations/ adopted by the Committee on Corporate Laws of the Section of Business Law, 4th ed. 2008- . (Reserve KF1414 A7452x) See the Model statutory close corporation supplement.

     

  • United States. Internal Revenue Service, Federal Tax Regulations (1954-) (LAW LOOSELEAF SERVICES KF6276.99 U64. Kept up to date through U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News.

     

  • State Corporation Statutes are included in the individual state statutes in the Primary section of the Plaza level, as well as the INCORP library, CORPORATION/LTD PARTNERSHIP files on LEXIS, and on WESTLAW, STAT-ALL or state abbreviation-ST.

 


Law Reviews & Other Periodicals

Many general legal periodicals contain articles on close corporations. The legal periodical indexes, Index to Legal Periodicals & Books and LegalTrac , can be searched for references to articles covering closely held corporations. The JLR and TP-ALL databases on Westlaw, the LAWREV library on LexisNexis, the Law Journal Library on HeinOnline on HeinOnline and LexisNexis Academic contain full-texts of many journals that include articles on closely held corporations. Below is a list of selected corporations law-related journals:

 

  • American Business Law Journal (1963-) (Per. A575) & Westlaw (BUS-TP). Consult MNCAT for additional online access options. 

     

  • Columbia Business Law Review (1986-)(Per. C6435) & Westlaw (BUS-TP) & LexisNexis (INCORP library).

     

  • Corporate Practice Commentator (1959-) (Per. C6763).

     

  • Corporation Journal (1915-) (Per. C6766).

     

  • Delaware Journal of Corporate Law (1976-) (Per. D44) & Westlaw (BUS-TP) & LexisNexis (INCORP library). Consult MNCAT for additional online database options. 

     

  • DePaul Business Law Journal (1989-) (Per. D457) & Westlaw (BUS-TP). Consult MNCAT for additional online database options. 

     

  • Journal of Corporation Law(1975-) (Per. J698) & Westlaw (BUS-TP). Consult MNCAT for additional online database options.

     

  • Journal of Corporate Taxation (1974- ) (Per. J697)

     

  • Review of Litigation (1980-) (Per. R491) Consult MNCAT online database access options.

     

  • Securities Regulation Law Journal (1973-) (Per. S424).

     


Treatises, Looseleafs, Nutshells & Restatements

  • American Law Institute, Principles of Corporate Governance: Analysis and Recommendations (2008-) (RESERVE KF1422 P75 2008 and on Westlaw (ALI-CORPGOV).

     

  • R. Franklin Balloti, The Delaware Law of Corporations and Business Organizations: Text, Forms, Law, 3rd ed. (1997-) (RESERVE KFD213 .B35 & on Westlaw (DELCBO).

     

  • BNA'S Corporate Counsel Weekly (1986-) (LOOSELEAF KF1410 C673). The daily version is on Westlaw (BNA-CCD) & on LexisNexis (BNA library, BNACCD file).

     

  • Aspen Law & Business, Corporation (1930-)(LOOSELEAF KF1410.C68X).

     

  • Arthur M. Borden, Going Private (1982-) (KF1414 .B66 1982).

     

  • Irving M. Grant & William R. Christian, Subchapter S Taxation (current ed. available on Westlaw (WGL-SUBS).

     

  • Robert W. Hamilton, The Law of Corporations in a Nutshell (5th ed. 2000) (RESERVE KF1414.3 H35 2000).

     

  • Edwin T. Hood et al., Closely Held Businesses in Estate Planning, 2d ed. (1998-) (KF1466 H63 1998).

     

  • Marvin T. Hyman, Corporation Forms (1992-) (LOOSELEAF KF1410 H96X).

     

  • Douglas A. Kahn, et. al. Taxation of S Corporations in a Nutshell, 2008, Reserve KF6491.K34x 2008.

     

  • John H. Matheson & Philip S. Garon, Minnesota Practice: Corporation Law and Practice (2nd ed. 2004) (RESERVE and REFERENCE OFFICE KFM5480 M53 v.18-19).

     

  • Joseph McCahery, M.J.G.C. Raaijmakers, Erik M. Vermeulen, The Governance of Close Corporations and Partnerships: US and European Perspectives (2004) (K1301.G68 2004).

     

  • Theodore Ness & Eugene L. Vogel, Taxation of the Closely Held Corporation (5th ed. 1991-2000) (KF6484 N47 1991).

     

  • F. Hodge O'Neal & Robert B. Thompson, O'Neal's Oppression of Minority Shareholders: Protecting Minority Rights in Squeeze-outs and Other Intracorporate Conflicts (Rev. 2d ed. 2004-) (KF1448 O52).

     

  • F. Hodge O'Neal & Robert B. Thompson, O'Neal and Thompson's Close Corporations and LLCs: Law and Practice (Rev. 3rd ed. 2004-) KF1466 .O521x)

     

  • Practising Law Institute, Acquiring or Selling the Privately Held Company.  Published annually (PLI Course Handbook series) Available on Westlaw (PLI-CORP) Law Library owns older eds. 1986, 1988-2001(KF1466.Z9 A26).


Continuing Legal Education Publications

  • Continuing Legal Education, Minnesota State Bar Ass'n, The Family and Closely Held Business Conference (2008) (RESERVE KF209 M54x 2008, No. 60).

     

  • Continuing Legal Education, Minnesota State Bar Ass'n, Resolving Minority Shareholder Disputes (2005) (KF209.M54x 2005 no.114).

     

  • Amy E. Dahl, Asset & Stock Purchase Agreements: an Annotated Document (2005) (KF209.M54x 2005 no.44).

     

  • Mark R. Geier, Buy/Sell & Share Purchase Agreement (2004) (KF209.M54x 2004 no.22).

     

  • Minnesota Institute of Legal Education, Closely Held Businesses (2001) (KF209.M55 2001 no. 69).