Go to the U of M home page.

U of M Law Library > Research Guides Directory > Health Law & Bioethics

Researching Health Law & Bioethics

Last update 12/2008. Direct feedback on this page to lawlib@umn.edu.


HEALTH LAW

Searching in MNCAT Discovery Catalog & WorldCat

MNCAT Discovery Catalog is the University of Minnesota's online catalog and includes holdings from the Law Library, as well as all other university libraries. You can search MNCAT Discovery to find books, periodicals and other resources.
If you do not know the precise terms used by the Library of Congress for a topic, use a subject keyword search with terms you think may be relevant. After finding an appropriate work, search again under the Library of Congress subject headings used for this work.

WorldCat is an online database of libraries all over the world. If you find a book though WorldCat that is not held by the University of  Minnesota or by another library in the Twin Cities, you may be able to request it through Interlibrary Loan.

Here are some suggested Library of Congress subject headings for works on health law. Use these terms as specific topics when you do subject searches in  MNCAT Discovery  and WorldCat. For place, use the country, state or continent you are interested in - i.e. United States, Minnesota, Africa, etc.
medical care or medical care--[place]
medical care--law and legislation--[place]

medical laws and legislation--[place]
public health or public health--[place
health planning or health planning--[place]
hospitals--law and legislation--[place]

Dictionaries

 

To find available dictionaries on specific aspects of health law, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-dictionaries.

Commonly Used Health Care Terms Glossary for Consumers.
Law Library HG 9396 .C66x 1996

Arnold S. Goldstein, The Aspen Dictionary of Health Care Administration (1989).  
Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 G624a 1989; Wilson Business Reference RA971 .G579 1989

Lee Hyde, The McGraw-Hill Essential Dictionary of Health Care: A Practical Reference for Physicians and Nurses (1988).
Bio-Medical Library W13 H994m 1988

Debora A. Slee et al., Slee's Health Care Terms (2008). 
Bio-Medical Library Reference W15 S632s 2008

Vergil N. Slee & Debora A. Slee, Health Care Reform Terms (1993).
Bio-Medical Library W15 S632he 1993  

Richard Sloane, The Sloane-Dorland Annotated Medical-Legal Dictionary (1987).
Law Library RA1017.S56 1987

Thomas Lathrop Stedman, Stedman's Medical Dictionary (28th ed., 2006).
Law Library Reference Office R121.S8 2006
Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 S812m 2006


Encyclopedias

 

To find available encyclopedias on specific aspects of health law, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-encyclopedias.

American Medical Association Complete Medical Encyclopedia (2003).
Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 A5118 2003

Encyclopedia of Medical Devices and Instrumentation(John G. Webster, ed., 2nd ed. 2006).
Bio-Medical Library Reference W13 E555 2006

Health Care Almanac: Every Person's Guide to the Thoughtful and Practical Sides of Medicine.
(Lorri A Zipperer, ed., 1998).
Bio-Medical Library Reference W84 AA1 H3751 1998

J.K. Mason & R.A. McCall Smith, Butterworths Medico-Legal Encyclopaedia (1987).
Law Library RA1017 .M37 1987

Jason Payne-James, Encyclopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine (2005).
Bio-Medical Library Reference W613 E56 2005

Julie Rovner, Health Care Policy and Politics A to Z (2009).
Bio-Medical Library WA13 R873h 2009


Bibliographies

 

To find available bibliographies on specific aspects of health law, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-bibliography.

Donald H. Caldwell, Jr., U.S. Health Law and Policy 2001: A Guide to the Current Literature (2d ed. 2001).
Law Library KF3775.A1C35 2001; Wilson Library Business Reference Quarto KF3775 .A1 C35 2001

JoAnne DuChez & Marion Torchia, Peer Review of Ancillary Services: An Annotated Bibliography (1979).
Wilson Library Gov Pub (US Docs) HE 22.211:An 2; Bio-Medical Library Periodicals

Encyclopedia of Health Information Sources (1993).
Bio-Medical Library Reference ZWB100 E56.

Health Care and Social Class: A Selected, Annotated Bibliography (Barbara Howe & James E. Smith, eds., 1974).
Bio-Medical Library ZW84 AA1 H8h 1974

Legal Rx: Issues in Health Care Law: Selected Bibliography, 14 Legal Reference Services Quarterly, no. 4, 1995, at 3-98.
Law Library Reserve Per.L476 

Prakash C. Sharma, A Guide to Selected References on National Health Care and Socialized Medicine, 1930-1973 (1979).
Wilson Library Quarto JF1351 .P83x P-268

John W. Williamson et al., Improving Medical Practice and Health Care: A Bibliographic Guide to Information Management in Quality Assurance and Continuing Education (1977).
Bio-Medical Library ZWA525 W731i 1977


Periodicals

 

Periodical Indexes

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books and LegalTrac provide electronic access to articles on health law published in legal periodicals.

 

A selection of health sciences periodical indexes can be searched online from the University Libraries' "Selected Resources for: Health Sciences" guide at:  http://www.lib.umn.edu/subjects/rqs/113.

Periodicals

 

To find available periodicals on health law generally, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject searches: medical care-law and legislation-[place]-periodicals; medical laws and legislation-[place]-periodicals. To find periodicals on specific aspects of health law, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-periodicals. 

Here are some of the health periodicals available in U of M Twin Cities' libraries

American Journal of Law & Medicine. 1975-
LAW Periodicals Per.A639

Annals of Health Law. 1992-
LAW Periodicals Per.A755

DePaul Journal of Health Care Law. 1996-
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.D458

Ethics, Law, and Aging Review. 2000-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7348

European Journal of Health Law. 1994-
Internet Resource
LAW Library K5.U724

Health Law in Canada. 1981-
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.H42

Health Law Journal. 1993-
Law Periodicals Per .H422

The Health Lawyer. 1982-
LAW KF3821.A15 H39

Health Matrix. 1991-
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.H43
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.74

Health Policy. 1984-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.74

Houston Journal of Health Law & Policy. 2001-.
LAW Periodicals Per.H67

Indiana Health Law Review. 2004-
LAW Periodicals Per .I443

Issues in Law & Medicine. 1985-
LAW Periodicals Per.I82

The Journal of Contemporary Health Law and Policy. 1985-
LAW Periodicals Per.J694

Journal of Health & Biomedical Law. 2004-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7374

Journal of Health Law. 1998-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7376

Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law.
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.107

Journal of Health Politics, Policy and Law.
LAW Periodicals Per.J738 Journal of Law and Health. 1985-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7481

The Journal of Law, Medicine & Ethics. 1993-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7488

Journal of Law Medicine and Ethics. 1993-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.111

Journal of Medicine and Law. 1997-
LAW Periodicals Per.J75746

Medical Law International. c1993-
LAW K13 .E25

Medical Law Review. 1993-
LAW Periodicals Per.M427

Quinnipiac Health Law Journal. 1996-
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.Q56

Social Responsibility, Business, Journalism, Law, Medicine. 1984-
LAW Periodicals Per.S632

Specialty Law Digest. Health Care Law. 1991-
LAW KF3821.A59 S6

Yale Journal of Health Policy, Law, and Ethics. c2001-
LAW Periodicals Per.Y315
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.231


Treatises

 

To find available treatises on health law generally, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject searches: medical care-law and legislation-[place];  medical laws and legislation-[place]; public health laws-[place]. To find treatises on specific aspects of health, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]. If you do not know the precise terms used by the Library of Congress for the topic, use a key word search with terms you think may be relevant. After finding an appropriate work, search again under the L.C. subject headings used for this work.


Government Publications

 

To find recent federal government publications related to health law, use the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications. It is also available on WESTLAW as GPO-CTLG (this version covers 1976-date). For earlier publications, refer to the bound volumes found in the U.S. Documents collection on the second floor of the law library under GP3.8: 

Many scientific publications not covered in the Monthly Catalog are listed in the NTIS Bibliographic Database which is available 1983-date on CD-ROM at the bio-medical library reference desk, online at www.ntis.org and via the ILLUMINA database at: http://www.lib.umn.edu/cgi-bin/ntis.cgi

Congressional publications, starting with the first Congress, are indexed in ProQuest Congressional (http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/16133). This database is also available on LexisNexis as CISINX.


Current Awareness Sources

 

  • BNA's Health Care Policy Report.
    LAW Looseleaf Services KF 3821 .A15 B54x (current issues are on Reserve).
    Also available online at the Law Library and Mondale Hall.

BIOETHICS

Searching in MNCAT Discovery Catalog & WorldCat

Here are some suggested Library of Congress subject headings for works on health law. Use these terms as specific topics when you do subject searches in  MNCAT Discovery  and WorldCat. For place, use the country, state or continent you are interested in - i.e. United States, Minnesota, Africa, etc.

bioethics or bioethics--[place]
medical ethics
or medical ethics--[place]
human experimentation in medicine
or human experimentation in medicine--[place]

Dictionaries

 

To find available dictionaries on specific aspects of bioethics, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-dictionaries.

The New Dictionary of Medical Ethics. BIO-MED Reference W13 N5319 1997

Bioethics Encyclopedias

 

To find available encyclopedias on specific aspects of bioethics, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-encyclopedias.  

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, Warren Thomas Reich, editor.
LAW Reference QH332 .E52 1995
BIO-MED Reference QH332 E56 1995
WILSON Reference QH332 E56 1995

 

Encyclopedia of Bioethics, Stephen G. Post, editor. 3rd ed. 2004.
BIO-MED Reference QH332 E56 2004


Bioethics Codes & Rulings

 

Code of Medical Ethics, Annotated Current Opinions: Including the Principles of Medical Ethics, Fundamental Elements of the Patient-physician Relationship and Rules of the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs.
Prepared by the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs & Southern Illinois University School of Law. 1994-date.
LAW R725 .A55a (Latest volume on Reserve).

 

Code of Medical Ethics: Reports of the Council on Ethical and Judicial Affairs of the American Medical Association.
LAW R725.5 .A44x 

Source Book in Bioethics.
LAW Reserve R724 .S599 1998


Bibliographies

 

To find available bibliographies on specific aspects of bioethics, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-bibliography.

Bibliography: Ethical Legal & Social Implications of the Human Genome Project
Compiled by Michael S. Yesley.
LAW Reserve Z6675.M4Y37 1992

Bibliography of Society, Ethics and the Life Sciences. 1974-1980
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no. 37

Bioethics.
Compiled by Cathy Martin and Michelle Cadoree WILSON Gov Pub (US Docs) LC 33.10:91-4

Bioethics: A Guide to Information Sources
Doris Mueller Goldstein ; consulting editor, LeRoy Walters.
WILSON R724 .G68x 1982

Biotechnology and Bioethics: January 1979 - March 1991.
Robert D. Warmbrodt.
WILSON Gov Pub (US DOC) A 17.18/4:91-112

Biotechnology and Bioethics : January 1985 - December 1992
Daniel Cabirac and Robert Warmbrodt.
WILSON Gov Pub (US Docs) A 17.18/4:93-11

Biotechnology and Bioethics: January 1992-March 1996
Compiled by Scott A. Leonard, Raymond Dobert.
WILSON Gov Pub (US Doc) A 17.18/4:96-04

ELSI Bibliography: Ethical Legal & Implications of the Human Genome Project.
LAW Reserve QH445.2 Y43x 1993 (and 1994 supplement)

The Hastings Center's Bibliography of Ethics, Biomedicine, and Professional Responsibility
Compiled by the staff of the Hastings Center.
LAW R724 .H38x 1984; BIO-MED Reference ZW50 H357b 1984

The Natural Environment: An Annotated Bibliography on Attitudes and Values.
Compiled by Mary Anglemyer and Eleanor R. Seagraves.
WILSON Reference (Non-Circulating) QH75.A49x 1984

New Titles in Bioethics. LAW Z6675.E8N48

A Search for Environmental Ethics: An Initial Bibliography
Compiled by Mary Anglemyer et al.
LAW QH75 .A53; WILSON Reference QH75 .A5x 1980


Periodicals

 

Periodical Indexes

Index to Legal Periodicals & Books and LegalTrac (both of which are available in the Law Library and on the law school network) provide electronic access to articles on bioethics published in legal periodicals.

Numerous health science periodical indexes also cover bioethics. To find them, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject searches: bioethics-[place]-periodicals-indexes; medical ethics-[place]-periodicals-indexes. To find periodical indexes on specific aspects of bioethics, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-periodicals-indexes. If you do not know the precise terms used by the Library of Congress for the topic, use a key word search with terms you think may be relevant. After finding an appropriate work, search again under the L.C. subject headings used for this work.

The University Libraries' guide: "Selected Resources for: Biomedical Ethics" at: http://www.lib.umn.edu/subjects/rqs/25 provides an excellent selection of databases and indexes to bioethics periodicals.

Bibliography of Bioethics. 1975-date. LAW Periodicals Per .B53; BIO-MED Reference ZW50 B579

Periodicals

To find available periodicals on bioethics generally, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject searches: bioethics-periodicals; medical ethics-[place]-periodicals; human experimentation in medicine-law and legislation-[place]-periodicals. To find periodicals on specific aspects of health law, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]-periodicals. If you do not know the precise terms used by the Library of Congress for the topic, use a key word search with terms you think may be relevant. After finding an appropriate work, search again under the L.C. subject headings used for this work.

Here are some available periodicals:

American Journal of Bioethics. 2001-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.13
Internet Resource

Bibliography of Bioethics. 1975-
BIO-MED ZW50 B579
LAW Periodicals Per.B53

Bioethics. 1987-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.35
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.B55

Bioethics Bulletin. 1992-
LAW Periodicals Per.B554
LAW Mfiche KF325.11413 .A15B54

Bioethics Examiner. 1997-
LAW Periodicals Per.B553
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.35

Bioethics Literature Review. 1993-
LAW Periodicals Per.B56

BioLaw. 1986-
LAW Mfiche KF3821.A6 B563

Christian Bioethics. 1995-
Internet Resource
LAW R724.C615
WILSON Periodicals --Basement
Developing world bioethics. 2001-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.59
Internet Resource

Hastings Center Report. 1971-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.73
Internet Resource
LAW Mfiche Per.H3795
LAW Periodicals Per.H3795

Journal International de Bioethique = International Journal of Bioethics. 1990-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.92
LAW Periodicals Per.J66

Journal of Health & Biomedical Law. 2004-
LAW Periodicals Per.J7374
Journal of medical humanities. 1989 BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.113
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.J7574

Kennedy Institute of Ethics Journal. c1991-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.153
Internet Resource
LAW Periodicals Per.K44

Medical Humanities Review. 1987
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.159
LAW Periodicals Per.M42655

Medicine, Health Care, and Philosophy. 1998-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.160
Internet Resource

New Titles in Bioethics.
LAW Z6675.E8 N48
Princeton journal of bioethics : PJB. 1998-
LAW Periodicals Per.P758

Theoretical Medicine and Bioethics. 1998-
BIO-MED Periodicals stack no.217
Internet Resource


Treatises

 

To find available treatises on bioethics generally, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject searches: bioethics; medical ethics; human experimentation in medicine-law and legislation-[place]. To find treatises on specific aspects of bioethics, search MNCAT Discovery under the following subject search: [specific topic]. If you do not know the precise terms used by the Library of Congress for the topic, use a key word search with terms you think may be relevant. After finding an appropriate work, search again under the L.C. subject headings used for this work.


Government Publications

 

To find recent federal government publications related to bioethics, use the Monthly Catalog of Government Publications. This source is available on the Internet at http://catalog.gpo.gov/F, and on WESTLAW as GPO-CTLG (this version covers 1976-date). For earlier publications, refer to the bound volumes found in the U.S. Documents collection on the second floor of the law library under GP3.8:

Many scientific publications, not covered in the Monthly Catalog, are listed in the NTIS Bibliographic Database which is available online at http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/3260 and on WESTLAW as NTIS.

Congressional publications, starting with the first Congress, are indexed in ProQuest Congressional, http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/16133. It is also available, along with other useful legislative history databases on the LexisNexis. The path from the main databases menu/directory is: Legal > Federal Legal - U.S. > Legislative Histories & Materials. Look for these files:

US - CIS/Index (1970 - current), file name: CISINX
CIS/Historical Index (1789 - 1980), file name: CISHST
US - CIS Legislative Histories.

Current Awareness Sources

 

  • Biolaw. 1986-date. LAW Microform Collection Mfiche KF 3821 .A6 B563