U of M Law Library > Research Guides Directory > International Trade Law

Researching International Trade Law

Last Updated 9/2010.  Links verified 4/2012.  Direct feedback on this page to lawlib@umn.edu.


Introduction

 

Here is a selected list of sources for international trade law (including FTA, NAFTA and GATT/WTO). To find more materials in the library, conduct some of the suggested MNCAT searches as indicated in the sections below.

You can also find useful international trade information on the internet. The best overall guide to GATT/WTO research is Jeanne Rehberg's WTO/GATT Research (http://nyulaw.libguides.com/wto_gatt). Another useful guide is the American Society for International Law, ASIL Guide to Electronic Resources for International Law: International Economic Law (http://www.asil.org/iel1.cfm).  A 2010 Congressional Research Report sketches the legal framework governing trade-related measures from the U.S. perspective: Trade Law: An Introduction to Selected International Agreements and U.S. Laws.

Generally, WTO documents can be found on the WTO website (http://www.wto.org). The Law Library also offers access to the subscription database WorldTradeLaw.net, which includes versions of WTO documents that are easier to retrieve and download than those on the official WTO site.  Older documents, from the GATT era, can be found on the WTO site here: http://www.wto.org/english/docs_e/gattdocs_e.htm, or at the GATT Digital Library (http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home

Only selected WTO documents are published in paper sources. Similarly, NAFTA documents can be found on the NAFTA Secretariat website (http://www.nafta-sec-alena.org/en/view.aspx).

A good collection of key sources and websites in international economic law is at the EISIL Project of the American Society of International Law (http://www.eisil.org).  (Select International Economic Law.)

For Guidelines on Finding and Citing Paper Sources for GATT/WTO documents, see the U of M Law Library guide at http://library.law.umn.edu/researchguides/GATT-WTOcites.html.


Background & General Sources on International Trade

 

International trade is a complex topic. You may want to start your research in secondary sources, such as Ralph Folsom's International Trade and Investment in a Nutshell or BNA's International Trade Reporter (below).

  • Basic Documents of International Economic Law, Chicago, IL: CCH, 1990. [K1005.4 .B37x 1990; LexisNexis (Legal > Area of Law - By Topic > International Trade) and WESTLAW (IEL)]
  •  

  • Basic Documents on International Trade Law, 3d rev. ed., Dordrecht; Boston: Nijhoff, 1999. [K1003.B37 1999]
  •  

  • Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law [online, Law Lib. - Mondale Hall & UMLaw Remote].
  •  

  • Folsom, R. H., International Trade and Investment in a Nutshell, 3d ed., St. Paul, Minn.: West Pub. Co., 2004. [Reserve K3943 .F65x 2004]
  •  

  • Inside U.S. Trade, Washington, DC: Inside Washington Publishers (weekly). [Per.1479]
  •  

  • International Trade, Geneva: GATT, 1952-. [HF499.C65]
  •  

  • International Trade Practice, 3d ed.  New York: West Group, 2004-. [KF6659 .K392]
  •  

  • International Trade Reporter, Washington, D.C.:BNA, 1954-. [Looseleafs KF1993 .A6 B87; LexisNexis and WESTLAW]
  •  

  • Osmanczyk, E., The Encyclopedia of the United Nations and International Relations (2d ed., New York: Taylor & Francis, 1990) [Law Reserve JX1977.O8213 1990; Law Reference Office JX1977.O85 1985]
  •  

  • MNCAT searches:

s = international trade

s = free trade

s = international law--sources

s = world trade organization

s = foreign trade regulation

s = tariff--law and legislation

s = investments, foreign--law and legislation

k = international trade

k = international & economics

k = dispute settlement

  • Web sites:

World Trade Organization (http://www.wto.org)

U.S. International Trade Representative (http://www.ustr.gov)

Department of Commerce (http://www.commerce.gov/)

Bureau of Export Administration (http://www.tradelaw.com/bureau.htm)

NAFTA Secretariat website (http://www.nafta-sec-alena.org/en/view.aspx)

Integrated Database on Trade Disputes for Latin American and the Caribbean (IDATD) http://idatd.eclac.cl/controversias/index_en.jsp)


GATT & WTO

General Agreement on Tarriffs & Trade and World Trade Organization

The GATT is one third of the Bretton Woods system that was created after World War II to ensure a stable trade and economic world environment. The IMF and the World Bank are the other two bodies created by the Bretton Woods system. The GATT has completed 8 rounds of multilateral trade negotiations (including the Uruguay Round). The GATT is a multilateral agreement and the text can be located at 55 UNTS 194, TIAS 1700. The Final Act from the Uruguay Round was concluded on December 15, 1993 and produced the World Trade Organization (WTO) agreement and its annexes. GATT 1947 and GATT 1994 are two distinct agreements. GATT 1994 incorporates the GATT 1947 provisions (except for the Protocol on Provisional Application).

  1. Sources for the text of GATT Agreements

     

    • Text of the General Agreement, Geneva: GATT, 1986. [K4603.A3 1947x]
    • Final Act Embodying the Results of the Uruguay Round, Geneva: GATT, 1993.  K4603 1987 A3 1993 [Reserve and 3rd floor]
    • Basic Instruments and Selected Documents (BISD), Geneva: GATT, 1953-. [K4603.1947 .A4 G46x 1952 and 26th supplement to current are on Reserve]
    • 33 International Legal Materials 1 (1994). [Per. I577]
    • LexisNexis (Select International Trade Law; GATT)
    • WESTLAW (GATT)
    • WTO website
    • The Results of the Uruguay Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations: The Legal Texts, Geneva: GATT, 1994. [Reserve K4603 1987 .A4 1994]
    • Trade and Related Agreements Database (TARA) (http://tcc.export.gov/Trade_Agreements/index.asp): The Trade Compliance Center of the International Trade Administration.   Contains text of, and information about, agreements between the United States and its trading partners.
    • The GATT Digital Library has the treaties and many other GATT-related documents (http://gatt.stanford.edu/page/home)
  2.  

  3. Implementing Legislation
  4. Uruguay Round Agreements Act , Pub. L. 103-465, 108 Stat. 4809 (1994), 19 USC § 3501. For complete classification of this Act to the U.S. Code, see "Short Title" note in the Code [KF 62 1994 .A2 1994].

     

  5. Sources for Commentary and Background Information on the GATT and the WTO 

     

    • Analytical Index: Guide to GATT Law and Practice, Geneva: GATT, 1995. [Reserve and 3rd floor, K4603.1947.G46x 1995]
    • WTO Analytical Index — Guide to WTO Law and Practice
    • Dunkel Draft, NY: Hein, 1992. [K4603 1986 .A3 1992]
    • GATT Focus, Geneva: GATT. [HF 1701 .G38]
    • The GATT Uruguay Round: A Negotiating History, 1986-1992, Boston: Kluwer 1993-. [K4603 1987.G38 1993]
    • GATTWTO News: From GATT to the World Trade Organization, Geneva: GATT, 1994-. [KJE 5062.C65 A 134x]
    • Jackson, J.H., Restructuring the GATT System, NY: Council on Foreign Relations Pr., 1989. [K4602.2 1990]
    • Jackson, J.H., The World Trading System: Law and Policy of International Economic Relations, 2d ed.  Cambridge, Mass.: MIT Press, 1997. [Reserve K 4602.2 1997].
    • Handbook of GATT Dispute Settlement, Hudson, NY: Transnational Jurists, 1991-. [K4602.2. 1991x]
    • Hudec, Robert, Developing Countries in the GATT Legal System, Brookfield, VT: Gower, 1987. [K4602.2 1987]
    • Hudec, Robert, The GATT Legal System and World Trade Diplomacy, Salem, NH: Butterworth, 1990. [Reserve and 3rd floor, K4602.2 1990x]
    • Hudec, Robert, Enforcing International Trade Law: The Evolution of the Modern GATT Legal System, Salem, NH: Butterworth, 1993. [Reserve K4702.2 1993]
    • Law and Practice Under the GATT, NY: Oceana, 1988-1995. [K4602.2 1987x]
    • Joseph F. Dennin,ed.  Law & Practice of the World Trade Organization.  New York: Oceana Publications, c1995- K 4600 .L38.
    • Long, O., Law and its Limitations in the GATT Multilateral Trade System, Boston: Graham & Trotman, 1987. [K4602.2 1987x]
    • Low, P., Trading Free: the GATT and U.S. Trade Policy, NY: Twentieth Century Fund, 1993. [HF1455 .L67 1993]
    • The New GATT Round of Multilateral Trade Negotiations: Legal and Economic Problems, Deventer; Boston: Kluwer Law & Taxation, 1988. [K4603 1987 A35 N49 1988]
    • News of the Uruguay Round, 1987-1994.  Geneva: GATT [HF1721 .N49x]
    • Status of Legal Instruments, Geneva: GATT, 1971-1993. [K4602.2 1971x].
    • Status of Legal Instruments, Geneva: GATT, 1997-. [K 4603 1995 .W67x].
    • Swacker, F.W., World Trade Without Barriers: The World Trade Organization (WTO) and Dispute Resolution, Charlottesville, VA: Michie Butterworth, c1995-. [K 4600 S.93x 1995]
    • Uruguay Round Trade Agreements, Texts of Agreements, Implementing Bill, Statement of Administrative Action, and Required Supporting Statements: Message from the President of the United States Transmitting the Uruguay Round Trade Agreements, Texts of Agreements, Implementing Bill, Statement of Administrative Action and Required Supporting Statements, Washington: U.S. G.P.O., 1994. [Y1.1/7: 103-316/]
    • James Cameron, ed. Dispute resolution in the World Trade Organisation. London : Cameron May, 1998.  [K 4600 .D58x 1998]
    • Palmeter, N. David.  Dispute Settlement in the World Trade Organization: Practice and Procedure. Boston : Kluwer Law International, c2004. [K 4602.2 2004.]
    • World Trade Organization Press Release[s], Geneva: GATT, 1994 -. [HF 1371. P74x]
    • MNCAT searches:

s = general agreement on tariffs and trade

s = uruguay round

s = tokyo round

s = tariff--law and legislation

s = foreign trade regulation

s = world trade organization

k = GATT

k = uruguay round

k = general agreement and tariffs and trade


NAFTA

North American Free Trade Agreement

 

The purpose of NAFTA is to include Mexico in the liberalization of trade regulations that already exist between the United States and Canada. The agreement entered into force on January 1, 1994.

  1. Sources for the text of NAFTA

     

    • NAFTA Text: Including Supplemental Agreements:  Final Version.  (Chicago, Ill.: CCH, c1994.)  [Reserve KDZ 945 .A41992 A2 1994x]
    • NAFTA Supplemental Agreements [Reserve and 2nd floor, US-DOCS PrEx9.12]
    • North American Free Trade Agreements, Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1992- . [KDZ944 .A41992 L39]
    • 32 International Legal Materials 289 (1993). [Per. I577]
    • 32 International Legal Materials 1480 (1993). [Per. I577] (environmental side agreement)
    • 32 International Legal Materials 1499 (1993). [Per. I577] (labor side agreement)
    • LexisNexis (Select International Trade Law; NAFTA)
    • WESTLAW (NAFTA or IEL)
    • Trade and Related Agreements Database (TARA) (http://tcc.export.gov/Trade_Agreements/index.asp): The Trade Compliance Center of the International Trade Administration.   Contains text of, and information about, agreements between the United States and its trading partners.
    • NAFTA Secretariat, http://www.nafta-sec-alena.org/en/view.aspx?x=206.
  2. Implementing Legislation
  3. North American Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act, Pub. L. No. 103-182, 107 Stat. 2057 (1993), 19 USC §§ 3301 et. seq. For complete classification of this Act, see "Short Title" note in the US Code. [KF 62 1994 .A2 1994]

     

  4. Sources for Commentary and Background Information on NAFTA

     

    • Leslie Alan Glick, Understanding the North American Free Trade Agreement:  Legal and Business Consequences of NAFTA (3d ed., 2010).  Law Library KDZ944.A4 1992 G58 2010.
    • Assessing NAFTA: A Trinational Analysis, Vancouver, B.C., Canada: Fraser Institute, 1993. [HF3211 .A87x 1993]
    • Ralph H. Folsom, NAFTA and Free Trade in the Americas in a Nutshell. St. Paul, MN: Thomson/West, c2008. Law Library Reserve KDZ944 .F653x 2008.
    • NAFTA and Beyond: Alternative Perspectives in the Study of Global Trade and Development. Los Angeles: Sage Publications, 2007. Wilson Library H1 .A4 v. 610.
    • USDA Economic Research Service, NAFTA at 13: Implementation Nears Completion (2007). Magrath Library US Docs A93.29/2-19:WRS-07-01.
    • Hufbauer, G., NAFTA: An Assessment, Washington, DC: Institute for International Economics, 1993. [HF3211 .H83 1993]
    • NAFTA Review, Washington, DC: U.S. Trade Representative. [US-DOCS PrEx 9.12]
    • North American Free Trade Agreements, Dobbs Ferry, NY: Oceana, 1992-(looseleaf). [KDZ 944. A41992 L39]
    • North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA): Documents and Materials Including a Legislative History, Buffalo; NY: Hein, 1994 (29 vols.). [KDZ944 .A41992 N676 1994] 
    • MNCAT searches:

s = canada treaties

s = free trade--north america

s = north america--commerce

s = north america--commercial policy

s = north america--economic integrations

s = Canada.  Treaties, etc. 1992 Oct. 7

k = NAFTA

k = mexico and free trade

 


United States - Canada Free Trade Agreement (FTA)

 

This agreement was signed by President Reagan and Prime Minister Mulroney on January 2, 1988 and, after implementing legislation was enacted in the United States and Canada, the Agreement entered into force on January 1, 1989. Its main purpose was to eliminate all tariffs on trade between the U.S. and Canada by January 1, 1998.  The FTA was incorporated into the North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA) on January 1, 1994.

  1. Sources for the text of FTA

     

    • 27 International Legal Materials 293 (1988). [Per. I577]
    • The Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement, Ottawa, Ont.: The International Trade Communications Group, Dept. of External Affairs, 1988. [KF6668 .C3 C35x 1988]
    • J. Johnson and J. Schachter, The Free Trade Agreement: A Comprehensive Guide, 205-336 Aurora, Ont.: Canada Law Book, 1988. [KF6668 .C32 J64x 1988]
    • U.S. Canada Free Trade Agreement: The Complete Resource Guide, Washington, D.C.: BNA, 1988. 3 vols. [KF6668 .C3 U83x 1988]
    • LexisNexis (Select International Trade Law; Basic Documents of International Economic Law)
    • WESTLAW (IEL)
    • Trade and Related Agreements Database (TARA) (http://tcc.export.gov/Trade_Agreements/index.asp): The Trade Compliance Center of the International Trade Administration.   Contains text of, and information about, agreements between the United States and its trading partners.
  2.  

  3. Implementing Legislation
  4.  

    United States - Canada Free Trade Agreement Implementation Act of 1988, Pub. L. No. 100-449, 102 Stat. 1851 (1988), 19 USC § 2112 note. See the code for amendments [KF 62 1994 .A2 1994].

     

  5. Sources for Commentary and Background Information on FTA

     

    • Assessing the Canada-U.S. Free Trade Agreement, Halifax, Nova Scotia: Institute for Research on Public Policy, 1987. [KF6668. C3 A87x 1987]
    • Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement: The Global Impact, Washington, DC: Institute for International Economics, 1988. [HF1776 .C285 1988]
    • Crookell, H. Canadian-American Trade and Investment Under the Free Trade Agreement, New York: Quorum, 1990. [HF1456 .C765 1990]
    • Making Free Trade Work: The Canada-U.S. Agreement, New York: Council on Foreign Relations, 1990. [KF6668 .C321988 M35 1990]
    • Steger, D. A Concise Guide to the Canada-United States Free Trade Agreement. Agincourt, Ont.: Carswell, 1988. [KF6668 .C32 S73x 1988]
    • U.S./Canada Trade Agreement, New York: PLI, 1989. [KF889 .A1 C66x no.494]
    • MNCAT searches:

s = Free Trade--Canada

s = Free Trade--United States

s = Tariff--Canada

s = Tariff--United States

s = Tariff--Law and Legislation--United States

s = Tariff--Law and Legislation--Canada

s = Canada--Commerce--United States

s = Canada--Commercial policy

s = United States--Commerce--Canada

k = free trade agreement

k = Canada and United States and free trade

 


Dispute Resolution

 

These are some of the sources available for panel reports and decisions. Other relevant sources can be found by searching MNCAT with keywords or s=arbitration and award, international or s=dispute resolution (law).

 


Periodicals

 

Periodicals and law reviews are excellent sources for information on the major trade agreements as well as on international trade generally.

  • Indexes

     

    • LegalTrac.  Available within Mondale Hall via the Law School Network and in the Law Library via public workstations. Law School faculty and students can also access LegalTrac from outside Mondale Hall. LegalTrac is also available under the name, Legal Resource Index via these databases: LexisNexis Academic, LexisNexis and Westlaw.
         
    • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals. [Reference K33.I55x].  Available to U of M users at http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/18071.
         
    • Index to Legal Periodicals (ILP). Available throughout Mondale Hall via the Law School Network and at public workstations in the Law Library. Law School faculty and students can also access ILP from outside Mondale Hall.
      ILP is also available via Westlaw.
         
    • Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI).  Available to U of M users at http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/3160.  SSCI is included in the database, Web of Science.  Coverage from 1975 - present, updated weekly.
         
    • PAIS International. (Available at http://www.lib.umn.edu/get/3110 for U of M users).  Use this index for broad coverage of social science issues worldwide. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, and book chapters.  Coverage dates 1972 - present (abstracts from 1985 - present).
  • Periodicals

     

    • Inside U.S. Trade.  Weekly summaries of trade developments from US perspective. Per.I479. Also available on LexisNexis from October 2005, via News & Business > Individual Publications > I > Inside U.S. Trade.
         
    • Inside U.S.-China Trade.  Weekly summaries of U.S. trade policies toward China. Available on LexisNexis from Februrary 2006, via News & Business > Individual Publications > I > Inside U.S.-China Trade.
         
    • BRIDGES Weekly Trade News Digest.  Critique of WTO activities from the International Centre on Trade and Sustainable Development.  (http://ictsd.net/news/bridgesweekly/)
         
    • International Trade Reporter.  Current reports (weekly).  BNA.  Looseleaf Services KF1993.A6 B87