U of M Law Library > Research Guides Directory > Minnesota Legal Research

Basic Minnesota Legal Research

Last Updated 3/2012. Direct feedback on this page to lawlib@umn.edu.


Introduction

This research guide is designed to help you begin your Minnesota legal research. The guide focuses on useful starting points for law students and practicing lawyers. It includes selected paper and electronic resources. Note: Access to Westlaw and LexisNexis is limited to U of M law students and faculty. To locate Minnesota legal research databases on Westlaw and LexisNexis, choose Minnesota from the list of U.S. states.
Other Research Guides (http://library.law.umn.edu/researchguides.html) on the Law Library home page may also be helpful:

Starting Points for General Research

 

  1. Minnesota Statutes Annotated.  Location:  Primary KFM5430 1946 .A315; other sets available on Reserve and in Reference Office at the same call numbers.
    • Available in print, on Westlaw or Lexis.
    • Contains current statute text, references for tracing legislative history, citations to secondary sources, and case annotations.
    • Start with the index.

    *Tip: Always check for relevant statutes, no matter what your legal research question is.

  2. Dunnell Minnesota Digest ("Dunnell's").  Location:  REFERENCE  KFM5445 .A17; another set is available in the Reference Office at the same call number.

     

    • Available in print and on Lexis.
    • Provides a brief description of current law, with citations to statutes and cases.
    • Currently, Dunnell's is the nearest available set to a Minnesota legal encyclopedia.
    • Start with the topics on the spines if possible; use the index as a last resort.

     

  3. Minnesota Practice Series (the “green books”).  Location:  RESERVE KFM 5480 .M53; other set available in Reference Office at the same call number.
    • Available in print and on Westlaw.
    • Provides well-written description of current Minnesota law in most areas.
    • Contains overviews, practice tips, case and statute citations, and some forms.
    • Start by finding appropriate volumes (e.g., Employment Law and Practice); use the index or table of contents within those volumes. You can also use the softcover general index to the entire series.
    • Most books in this series have their subjects on their spines, but the four volumes entitled Methods of Practice cover a variety of topics. Check the index to the Methods of Practice set if other books in the series do not address your topic.
    *Tip:  Titles in the Minnesota Practice Series are listed under Minnesota Treatises, below.

     

  4. West’s Minnesota Digest.  Location: REPORTERS KFM 5445 .A17 1989 [second floor].
    • Available in print and --as headnotes-- on Westlaw.
    • Provides case summaries and citations, arranged by topic and "key number."
    • Start with Descriptive-Word Index or topics.

Finding Continuing Legal Edcuation (CLE) Materials

Use MNCAT, the Library Catalog (http://umnlib.oit.umn.edu/F/?func=file&file_name=find-b&local_base=tcmncat").

1.  Select the Advanced Search function in MNCAT.
2.  Include the General Keywords: legal education.
3.  Add search terms pertaining to your topic.

*Tip:  Truncate search terms using a question mark if necessary; e.g., limited liability compan?.  This retrieves several Minnesota CLE publications (both MILE and MCLE) dealing with LLCs.


Finding Minnesota Forms

 

  1. Use the Advanced Search function in MNCAT.

     

  2. Include the General Keywords minnesota forms.

     

  3. Add search terms pertaining to your topic.
Tip: To avoid some irrelevant documents, limit results to materials in the Law Library (using the drop-down menu).

One of the best series of Minnesota legal forms is called the Annotated Document Series. Retrieve these items as follows:

  1. Use the Advanced Search function in MNCAT.

     

  2. Select Series Keywords; use the phrase annotated document series.

     

  3. Add specific search terms pertaining to your topic; e.g., commercial mortgage?

Another good set of forms for Minnesota can be found in several titles with the words "documents made easy" as part of the title.  To locate these titles, do a Title Keywords search for these three words; to narrow this search, include a keyword for the kind of form you want with the words documents made easy in your Title Keywords search. 


See also the Law Library's guide to Finding Forms and Form Books, http://library.law.umn.edu/researchguides/legalforms.html

 

 

Web sources for forms:


Treatises Covering Minnesota Law

 

Administrative Law

Minnesota Administrative Procedure, 2d ed. (George A. Beck et al. eds.).  KFM5840 .M56x  (additional copy on Reserve).

William J. Keppel, Administrative Practice and Procedure, 2nd ed. (Vol. 21, Minnesota Practice Series) Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v.21 (additional copy in Reference Office).

Civil and Appellate Procedure

Haydock, Roger S., David F. Herr, and Sonja Dunnwald Peterson, Civil Practice Forms, 2nd ed. (Vols. 15-16, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.15-16 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

David F. Herr, General Rules of Practice Annotated, (Vol. 3A, Minnesota Practice Series)  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.3A (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

David F. Herr and Roger S. Haydock, Civil Rules Annotated, 4th ed. (Vols. 1, 1A, 2, & 2A, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.1-2A (additional set in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

David F. Herr, Elements of an Action, (Vol. 28, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.28 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Cause of Action Manual, 3rd ed., Shawn M. Bartsh, ed., Reserve KFM5933.C38x 1999.

Eric J. Magnuson and David F. Herr, Appellate Rules Annotated, (Vol. 3, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.3 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Lisa McGuire, Summary Judgment and Related Termination of Motions, (Vol. 30, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.30 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw)

Douglas D. McFarland & William J. Keppel, Minnesota Civil Practice, 4th ed, (2008-current).  Reserve KFM5930.M31x (additional set in Reference Office; also on LexisNexis).

Methods of Practice: Civil Advocacy.  (Vol. 5, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.53 v.5 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

MDLA Release Book.  5th ed. (2006) Library Reference Office KFM5960.3.M35x 2006.

Minnesota Limitations Manual : abstracts of time limitations from Minnesota statutes and rules of court, 3rd ed. Reference Office KFM5936.L5.M55x (also on LexisNexis). NOTE:  no longer updated as of Aug. 2009.

Minnesota State District Court Civil Practice Deskbook, 1st ed. [MCLE] (RESERVE KF209.M54x 2009 no. 18).  In addition to covering pleading and discovery, this deskbook discusses trial elements, post-trial procedures, and collection of judgments; it includes forms.

Maynard E. Pirsig, Pirsig on Minnesota Pleading, 6th ed.  Reserve KFM5935.P571x (also on LexisNexis).

Time's Up, a Manual of the Statutes of Limitations in Minnesota for Civil Litigators, Civil Litigation Section, Minnesota State Bar Association, 2nd ed, 2009. Reserve KFM5490.L5.T56x.

Contracts

Fay Knowles & John A. Sartorius, eds., Minnesota Contracts Deskbook, 2nd ed.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2009 no.59

Corporations

John H. Matheson & Philip S. Garon, Minnesota Corporation Law & Practice, KFM5610.M38 (additional set on Reserve).

John H. Matheson & Brent A. Olson, Business Law Deskbook. (Vol. 20, 20A, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.20-20A (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

The Minnesota Business Law Deskbook: Corporations and LLCs, 1st ed.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2010 no. 46.

Richard A. Saliterman & Roger J. Magnuson, Advising Minnesota Corporations and Other Business Organizations, 2nd ed.  Reserve KFM5613.S25 2011.

Criminal Law & Procedure 

Frederic Bruno, The Drinking Driver in Minnesota, 3d ed.  Reserve KFM5697.8.B78x (also on LexisNexis). NOTE:  no longer updated as of Aug. 2009.

Martin J. Costello, Richard S. Frase & Stephen M. Simon, Minnesota Misdemeanors and Moving Traffic Violations, 3rd ed. KFM5975.C67x 1999 (additional set on Reserve; also on LexisNexis).

Douglas V. Hazelton, Minnesota DWI Handbook, (Vol. 31, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.31 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Henry W. McCarr, Criminal Law and Procedure, 3d ed. (Vols. 7, 8, 9, & 9A, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.7-9A(additional set in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Kenneth F. Kirwin, Kirwin on Search and Seizure, 2nd ed. Reserve KF209.M54x 2010 no. 49.

Minnesota Judges Criminal Benchbook, 6th ed. Reserve KF209.M54x 2008 no. 61.

Trial Practices & Procedures for Judges   (Prepared by Prof. Steve Simon, Univ. of Minnesota Law School)
This e-Book, available on the web at http://ebenchbk.law.umn.edu, "is designed to allow judges to get a quick "answer" to issues that arise at or during trial."  The main topics covered include: Minnesota Criminal Law & Procedure; Jury Trial Guide: Pre-Trial thru Verdict; Judicial Training Updates; Evidence Issues, Trial Procedures and Practices from a Judge's Perspective.

Debtor/Creditor

           Debtor-Creditor Handbook.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2010 no. 37.

          Allan J. Zlimen, Minnesota Collections Handbook, (Vol. 26, Minnesota Practice Series)  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.26 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw.

Dispute Resolution (Law)

          
Gary Weissman, The Minnesota ADR Handbook.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2011 no.33.


Employment

Stephen F. Befort, Employment Law and Practice, 2nd ed. (Vol. 17, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve  KFM5480.M53 v.17 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Minnesota Employer's Guide, (Michele A. Potts, ed.). Reserve KFM5734.M57x.  

Maynard G. Sautter, Employment in Minnesota:  A Guide to Employment Laws, Regulations, and Practices, 3rd ed.  KFM5731 .S28x
(also on LexisNexis).

Evidence

David F. Herr, Minnesota Trial Objections. Reserve KFM5940.H47x 2008

Lisa McGuire, Motions in Limine (Vol. 29, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.29 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Bertrand Poritsky, Minnesota Evidence Trialbook. Reserve KFM5940.P67x 1987.


Peter N. Thompson & David F. Herr, Courtroom Handbook of Minnesota Evidence, (Vol. 11A, Minnesota Practice Series) Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.11A (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

 Peter N. Thompson, Evidence, 3d (Vol. 11, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480 .M53 v.11 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Minnesota Courtroom Evidence Deskbook, Reserve KF209.M54x 2008 no. 85.

Family Law

         
Minnesota Child Custody Deskbook, 2d ed. (Gary A. Debele, ed.).                     Reserve KF209.M54x 2011 no.85.

Minnesota Family Law Practice Manual, 3d ed. (Cathy E. Gorlin, ed.).  Reserve KFM5494.D38x (also on LexisNexis).

Martin L. Swaden & Linda A. Olup, Family Law, 2d ed. (Vol. 14, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.14 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Family Law Financial Deskbook.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2008 no. 43.

Insurance

Michael K. Steenson, Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance, 3d ed.  Reserve KFM5591.A46 S732 (also on LexisNexis).

Minnesota Insurance Law Deskbook, 2011-  .  Reserve KF209.M54x 2011 no.44

Britton D. Weimer et al., Insurance Law and Practice, (Vol. 22, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.22 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Juveniles

Robert Scott & John O. Sonsteng, Juvenile Law and Practice, 3rd ed. (Vols. 12-13, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480 .M53 (additional set in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Legal Ethics 

 William J. Wernz, Minnesota Legal EthicsReference Office KFM5476.5.A2 W47x 2011   http://minnesotalawyering.com/wp-content/uploads/downloads/2011/05/Minnesota-Legal-Ethics_1_0.pdf

Nonproft Organizations

         
Minnesota Nonprofit Deskbook.  1st ed.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2011 no.84.

Probate

Susan L. Link & John W. Provo, Minnesota Probate Deskbook(Vol. 24, Minnesota Practice Series)Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.24 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Minnesota Estate Administration Deskbook.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2007 no.12.

Stein on Probate, 4th ed. (Robert A. Stein ed., 2004-).  Reserve KFM5544.S71x  (also on LexisNexis).

Products Liability

Michael K. Steenson, Products Liability Law. (Vol. 27, Minnesota Practice Series). Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.25 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on LexisNexis).

 
Real Estate

James D. Olson, Minnesota Residential Real Estate.  KFM5526.O47 1991 (also on LexisNexis).

The Minnesota Real Estate Purchase & Sale Deskbook.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2010 no.35.

Eileen Roberts, Real Estate Law, (Vol. 25, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.25 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Trial Practice

Michael A. Bryant, The Toolbox: the Mechanics of Trying a Case, 3rd ed., Reserve KFM5497.P3 T66x 2008.

Ronald I. Meshbesher, Trial Handbook for Minnesota Lawyers (Vol. 23, Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.23 (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

 Minnesota District Judges Association, Minnesota Jury Instruction Companion Handbook, (Vol. 4B Minnesota Practice Series).  Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.4B (additional copy in Reference Office)

Minnesota District Judges Association, Jury Instruction Guides -- Civil, 5th ed. (Vols. 4 & 4A, Minnesota Practice Series) Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.4 & 4A (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

Minnesota District Judges Association, Jury Instruction Guides -- Criminal, 5th ed. (Vols. 10 & 10A, Minnesota Practice Series) Reserve KFM5480.M53 v.10 & 10A (additional copy in Reference Office; also on Westlaw).

See also: Civil and Appellate Procedure, Evidence and Criminal Law headings above. 

Trusts and Trustees

Minnesota Trust Administration Deskbook, 2d ed.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2005 no.84.

Wills

Drafting wills and trust agreements, 6th ed.  Reserve KF209.M54x 2008 no. 50.


Minnesota Legal Periodicals

While law review articles from Minnesota law schools are indexed in major legal periodicals indexes such as LegalTrac and Index to Legal Periodicals and Books, smaller publications such as Hennepin Lawyer are not.  For a comprehensive index to Minnesota legal periodicals since 1984, use the Minnesota Legal Periodicals Index (http://www.lawmoose.com/index.cfm?Action=MLPI.ShowArticleFinder) available at LawMoose.

Further Help

Minnesota Legal Research Guide, 2nd ed. (W.S. Hein, 2001).  KFM5475.S63 2001 [third floor]; additional copies are on Reserve and in the Reference Office at the same call number.  If you have questions about your Minnesota legal research, ask for help in the Reference Office (612-625-4309, law-ref@umn.edu).